3. Removing an Open edX course

The Open edX platform does not provide a simple interface for deleting a course or a library; this is a cumbersome procedure that has to be carefully performed. For this reason, we have implemented a two-step approach: in the first step, the customer will mark the course or library for deletion, and that alone will be enough to get rid of a particular course, but it will not yet be removed from the databases. In the second step, the DevOps team at eduNEXT will take care of removing the courses or libraries that have been marked for deletion.

3.1. How to delete an Open edX course?

The Open edX platform does not provide a simple interface for deleting a course or a library; this is a cumbersome procedure that has to be carefully performed. For this reason, we have implemented a two-step approach:

In the first step, the customer will mark the course or library for deletion, and that alone will be enough to get rid of a particular course, but it will not yet be removed from the databases.

In the second step, the DevOps team at eduNEXT will take care of removing the courses or libraries that have been marked for deletion.

3.2. How to mark a Course for deletion?

The process of the complete deletion of a course is done by eduNEXT. However, you can use this guide to remove a course from your LMS site and your Studio screen. eduNEXT will proceed to delete all the courses marked with the course name described in this procedure later in bulk.

1. Get the list of enrolled learners. First, you should go to the course in the LMS platform, and go to the instructor page of the course and download a profile information report, which will have the full list of learners enrolled in the course.

2. Unenroll all learners from the course. From the file you downloaded, select all the emails addresses. Go to Instructor-membership-batch enrollment, and paste all the email addresses in the box. Then, uncheck the auto enroll and notify users by email options. Select Unenroll.

3. Change the course dates Now, you should go to the schedule and details page in Studio platform and change the enrollment start date and enrollment end date to any date in the past.

4. Change the course visibility Now, you should go to the course in Studio. Then, we have to go “advanced settings” and select the field “Course Visibility In Catalog” and type “none” in it. Doing so, we rest assure that neither students nor admins users can see the course again.

5. Change the course name. For an easy detection of the courses we should delete, You may change the name of the course to mark it as a course for deletion. In this case, you should go to Studio-Settings-Advanced settings- “Course display name” and change the course name to something like: “ZZZ course marked for deletion”.

6. Edit the course team Then, you shall go to the course team page and add the following email address as administrator of the course: support@edunext.co Now, we need to delete all team members with the exception of the user we just added.

By following these steps, the course will stop being visible either for learners and instructors, so for most practical effects, it will be removed from your Site. However, the course and its record will still exist for a while.

Note: Please make sure to do this process for the exact course you want to delete. If a course is marked for deletion by mistake and it gets deleted, it will not be possible to recover the information afterward.

3.3. How to mark a Library for deletion?

1. Change the Library name. For an easy detection of the libraries that we should delete, You may change the name of the library to mark it as a item for deletion. In this case, you should go to Studio-Libraries and edit the name of the library to something like: “ZZZ library marked for deletion”.

2. Edit the User access You shall go to the User access page and add the following email address as administrator of the library: support@edunext.co Now, we need to delete all team members except the user we just added.

3.4. Course / Library deletion performed by eduNEXT

On a regular basis, eduNEXT will perform the actual deletion of the courses and libraries that have been marked for deletion. You do not need to do or worry about anything as this is a standard procedure managed by eduNEXT.